Report from Camp Perry 2016

Awards.BuglerBrooks.2 Awards.JrNatlTeam.SHolt Awards.Juniors3rdPlTeam.DosBlondesLoco Awards.NatlTeam.Wilson.Miller.Stephens.Reich.Eldridge Awards.TeamGold.SoldierofMarathon

Camp Perry 2016

By Doug DuBois, Jr., Executive Director of the Texas State Rifle Association

Each year the Texas State Rifle Association (TSRA) is represented by two adult Texas Service Rifle Teams and two Texas Junior Rifle Teams at Camp Perry, Ohio for the CMP National Trophy Rifle Matches. TSRA was also represented the previous week in the CMP National Trophy Pistol Matches, which will be reported on separately.

For the past two years, the TSRA Adult Gold Team has dominated the Civilian competition. Including this year where their score in the Trophy Team Match was a new national record. This year was no different with repeat wins in the National Trophy Team Match earning them the Soldier of Marathon trophy and for the third year in a row, they were the top civilian team (third overall) in the National Trophy Infantry Team Match, earning them the Leatherneck Trophy for a record third year in a row. Adult Gold Team consisted of Coach Dave Wilson, Captain Tony Miller, Lee Eldridge, Samantha Holt, Kyle Hoelscher, Buddy Reich, Keith Stephens and Jason Utley. For the Leatherneck Trophy match, Jason Utley captained and Tony Miller was a shooter.

Along with outstanding team shooting, TSRA Service Rifle Team was blessed with several outstanding individual shooters. Foremost among them was Keith Stephens of College Station. Keith won the prestigious President’s Rifle Trophy with a score of 393X17. Buddy Reich was third in the President’s Rifle Trophy match with a score of 393X14. Buddy’s score in P100 was a new national record for a senior. Additional individual adult awards were earned by Buddy Reich of Gates, winning High Senior and Jeff Illiff of Dallas, winning High Law Enforcement Rifle award.

Keith Stephens also won the Pietroforte Trophy, awarded to the High Civilian for the aggregate of the National Trophy Individual and National Trophy Team scores. PLUS, the Alice Bull Trophy, awarded to the High Civilian for aggregate in President’s 100 and National Trophy Individual.

TSRA adults earning a spot on the National Trophy Rifle Team were: Coach, Dave Wilson; Captain, Tony Miller, along with Keith Stephens, Buddy Reich and Lee Eldgridge, making up five of the eight positions. WELL DONE.

Not to be out done by the adults, the TSRA Junior Service Rifle Team made a very good showing during the 2016 National, showing a great deal of promise for coming years. Junior Team coordinator was Dan Ramsey, lead coach was Chris Chesley, and they were supported by Royce Brown, Robert Davis, Walter Haley, Michael Mann, Dennis McDaniels, Clayton Roberts and Coy Williams.

The two-person team of Madison Butler and Samantha Holt earned third place in Junior Two-Man Team Rifle Match. They were coached by Dan Ramsey and Captain was Clay Hefner. Samantha also earned a spot on the National Junior Trophy Rifle team.

Many thanks to all the parents and coaches who made the trip to support the Juniors and provided much needed service as Pit Monkeys, scorers and assisting wherever needed.

DSC_0285 Chris Perry 2016 3 DSC_0469 IMG_2726 IMG_2806

AD Space